ECTS in Flanders

Introduction on ECTS

LUCA’s degree programmes are organized according to the ECTS credit system (ECTS stands for European Credit Transfer System). Each course unit stands for a minimum of three credits. One credit represents 25 to 30 hours of a student’s workload.
Each course consists of different course units, which are independent building blocks for which students may enrol according to their interests and time available. They can opt for the standard study path of around 60 ECTS credits a year, or choose a part-time or individual study program adjusted to their specific needs. Students can also enrol for a degree or to get credits for one or more course units.

Students will obtain a degree after having accumulated all the credits allocated to the course units of the course programme.
You can apply for credit for previous studies you have undertaken. LUCA School of Arts will consider the subjects you have studied and your results to determine whether you are eligible for credit. If you are granted credit, it will reduce the number of course units you are required to take in your course programme.

After successfully completing at least 180 ECTS credits (a study period of at least three years) students obtain a bachelor degree. Master programmes are characterised by the integration of education and research and a master thesis. They cover at least 60 ECTS credits (at least one year of study). Depending on the field of study some programmes last longer. Master programmes are organised at universities and at university colleges in the framework of an association.

In the ECTS system, the performance of the student is documented by a local/national grade. It is good practice to add an ECTS grade, in particular in the case of credit transfer. The ECTS grading scale ranks students on a statistical basis. Therefore, statistical data on student performance is a prerequisite for applying the ECTS grading system. The following table gives an overview of how ECTS grades are assigned to students:

ECTS grading

Weight scale

  • A Best 10%
  • B Next 25%
  • C Next 30%
  • D Next 25%
  • E Next 10%
  • F Fail – considerable further work required
  • FX Fail – some more work required to pass

Click here for more information on ECTS on the European Commission’s Education and Training website.

ECTS grading scale LUCA

For application of the LUCA grading scale and its comparision with th ECTS grading scale, download the attached document further below.

ECTS coordinators LUCA School of Arts

The responsible ECTS coordinators differ depending on the campus location and the degree programme.
Here you find the list of the ECTS coordinators per campus:

©2018 LUCA School of Arts. Lees onze gebruiksvoorwaarden en privacybeleid.

website by